Home >> News: February 1st, 2016 >> Story
Satnews Daily
February 1st, 2016

NASA Announces Lucky Cubesats... Science, Technology Missions for First Flight Of Space Launch System

[Satnews] NASA Television will air the announcement of the selection of a fleet of small satellites to launch on the inaugural flight of the agency’s Space Launch System (SLS). The event, which is at 11 a.m. EST (10 a.m. CST) Tuesday, February 2, from NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Alabama, will announce the CubeSats that will fly as secondary payloads and deploy to conduct science and technology demonstrations in deep space.

Following the event, which media are invited to participate in, NASA TV will air a demonstration of the Near-Earth Asteroid Scout (NEA Scout), a CubeSat that uses solar sail propulsion for low-cost exploration and reconnaissance of an asteroid.

The participants for both the announcement and demonstration are:

  • NASA Deputy Administrator Dava Newman
  • Todd May, Marshall Space Flight Center director (acting)
  • Bill Hill, deputy associate administrator of Exploration Systems Development at NASA Headquarters in Washington
  • Michael Seablom, chief technologist for NASA’s Science Mission Directorate at NASA Headquarters
  • Jim Cockrell, Cube Quest program administrator in NASA’s Space Technology Mission Directorate at NASA’s Ames Research Center in Moffett Field, California
  • Jitendra Joshi, technology integration lead for the Advanced Exploration Systems Division at NASA Headquarters
  • Chris Crumbly, manager of the Space Launch System Spacecraft and Payload Integration/Evolution Office at Marshall
  • Leslie McNutt, NEA Scout project manager at Marshall
  • Les Johnson, NEA Scout solar sail principal investigator at Marshall

The primary goal of the first integrated launch of NASA’s SLS and Orion spacecraft is to demonstrate the agency’s new capability to launch future crewed, deep space missions, which include missions to an asteroid and Mars. As a bonus, SLS will carry 13 CubeSats on its first flight as secondary payloads. These small satellites will perform various in-space experiments and demonstrations to advance the technological capabilities needed to take humans farther into space than ever before. The secondary payloads were selected through a series of announcements of flight opportunities, a public contest, and negotiations with NASA’s international partners.

For NASA TV downlink information and schedules, and to view the news briefing, visit:


SmallSat Expertise To Inundate
The February SmallSat Symposium

For a thorough immersion in the smallsat market segment, attend the upcoming, two-day and extremely important SmallSat Symposium. This highly informative symposium will be conducted on Tuesday, February 23, and Wednesday, February 24, 2016. The event will occur at the Hogan Lovells Conference Center in Silicon Valley, California, and is organized and sponsored by Satnews Publishers. For additional information, head over to smallsatshow.com/

And talk about subject-matter expertise... here is the current list of speakers for this super event...

  • Jason Andrews, CEO — Spaceflight Industries
  • Jenny Barna, Launch Manager — Spire Global, Inc.
  • David Barnhart, Director/Co-Founder — USC Space Engineering Research Center
  • Christopher Baugh, President — NSR
  • Peter Beck, CEO & CTO — Rocket Lab
  • Dr. Sami BenAmor, Director Product Line Managers — Thales Alenia Space
  • Amir Blachman, Managing Director — Space Angels Network
  • John Booher, Partner — Hogan Lovells
  • Tom Boyer, Vice President — Kymeta
  • Dr. Sean Casey, Managing Director — Silicon Valley Space Center
  • Carissa Christensen, Managing Partner — The Tauri Group
  • Craig Clark, Founder — Clyde Space, Ltd.
  • Randy Culver, CEO — AMERGINT Technologies
  • Erik Daehler, Director Product Innovation — Boeing Network and Space Systems
  • Stuart Daughtridge, Vice President of Advance Technology — Kratos Technology and Training Solutions
  • Hoyt Davidson, Managing Partner — Near Earth LLC
  • Dr. Lars Dyrud, CEO — OmniEarth
  • Daniel Faber, CEO — Deep Space Industries
  • Dr. Shahin Farshchi, Partner — Lux Capital
  • Nick Flitterman, Managing Director — Portland Advisers
  • Chad Frost, Deputy Director of Engineering — NASA Ames Research Center
  • Dr. Jenny Gautier, Director of Commercial Programs — The Aerospace Corporation
  • Dr. Steve Goldberg, CEO and Co-Founder — Venrock
  • David Hartshorn, Secretary General — GVF
  • Andy Hoskins, In-Space Propulsion and Power Business Development — Aerojet Rocketdyne
  • Roger C. Hunter, Associate Director for Programs — NASA Ames Research Center
  • Susan J. Irwin, President — Irwin Communications, Inc.
  • John P. Janka, Partner — Latham & Watkins LLP
  • Steve Jurvetson, Partner — DFJ
  • Keith Karuntzos, Manager, Business Development — United Launch Alliance (ULA)
  • Dr. Josef Koller, Senior Advisor — Office of the Secretary of Defense for Space Policy
  • Chris Kunstadter, Senior Vice President — XL Catlin
  • Adam Keith, Managing Director — Euroconsult Canada
  • Karl A. Kensinger, Deputy Chief, Satellite Division — FCC International Bureau
  • Tony Lin, Senior Associate — Hogan Lovells
  • Dan Lopez, VP of Technology — Urthecast
  • Catherine Melquist, Senior Vice President, Satellite Division — Sage Communications
  • Debra Facktor Lepore, VP and GM of Strategic Operations — Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp
  • Hartley Lesser, Editorial Director — Satnews Publishers
  • Daniel Lim, Vice President of Disruptive Innovations and the Principal FANTM-RiDE Design Engineer — TriSept Corporation
  • Jeffrey Manber, CEO — Nanoracks LLC
  • Dr. Clare Martin, Vice President of Programs — Surrey Satellite Technology US
  • Suzi McBride, Vice President — Iridium
  • Randa Relich Milliron, CoFounder — Interorbital Systems
  • Clayton Mowry, President — Arianespace
  • J. Armand Musey, President and Founder — Summit Ridge Group
  • Sunil Nagaraj, Vice President of Marketing and Communications — Bessemer Venture Partners
  • Janet Nickloy, VP Responsive ISR Programs — Harris Corporation
  • Carlos Niederstrasser, Business Development & Special Initiatives — Orbital ATK
  • Paul Oppenheim, Vice President Business Dev. & Contracts — Vanguard Space Technologies
  • Dr. John Paffett, CEO — Surrey Satellite Technology US
  • Dara A. Panahy, Partner— Milbank, Tweed, Hadley & McCloy
  • Doug Patterson, VP, Military & Aerospace Business Sector — Aitech Defense Systems
  • Barbara Plante, Founder and President — Boreal Space
  • Will Pomerantz, Vice President for Special Projects — Virgin Galactic
  • Chris Quilty, Senior Vice President, Equity Research — Raymond James & Associates
  • Rex Ridenoure, CEO and co-founder — Ecliptic Enterprises Corporation
  • Richard M. Rocket, CEO and Co-Founder — NewSpace Global, LLC
  • Joe Rothenberg, Director of Engineering and Operations — Google
  • Mike Safyan, Director of Launch and Regulatory Affairs — Planet Labs
  • Dr. Alex Saltman, Senior Vice President — GeoOptics
  • Randy S. Segal, Partner, Co-Lead Satellite Practice — Hogan Lovells
  • Chris Stott, Founder, Chair & CEO — ManSat
  • David Strobel, CEO and Program Manager (PM) — Space Micro
  • Tom Stroup, President — SIA
  • Al Tadros, Vice President of DoD and Civil Business — SSL
  • Dr. Marco Villa, President & COO — Tyvak Nano-Satellite Systems
  • Michael Vinter, Executive Vice President — International Space Brokers
  • Micah Walter-Range, Director, Research & Analysis — Space Foundation
  • Bruce Yost, Project Manager — NASA Ames Research Center
  • Louis Zacharilla, Director of Development —Society of Satellite Professionals International (SSPI)