Home >> News: August 8th, 2016 >> Story
Satnews Daily
August 8th, 2016

Colorado Space Heroes Hall Of Fame Honorees Named...

The Space Foundation has revealed who the first honorees to be inducted into the Colorado Space Heroes Hall of Fame will be...

  • General James V. Hartinger, USAF (Ret.), for his work as Commander in Chief, North American Air Defense Command, Commander in Chief, North American Aerospace Defense Command, and as the first Commander of U.S. Air Force Space Command
  • Ronald M. Sega, Ph.D., for his work as a NASA astronaut; Professor and Director, Systems Engineering Programs, Colorado State University; Director of Defense Research & Engineering; and leadership in the U.S. Air Force Reserve (retired Major General)
  • Alan Stern, Ph.D., for leading NASA's New Horizons mission to the Pluto system and the Kuiper Belt, his work as a planetary scientist, space program executive, aerospace consultant and author; named to the Time 100 in 2007 and 2016
  • The Honorable Peter B. Teets, for his work on space programs at Martin Marietta; for his leadership as President of Martin Marietta Denver Aerospace, and President of Martin Marietta Space Group; his global industry leadership as President and Chief Operating Officer of Lockheed Martin Corp.; and his service as 13th Director of the National Reconnaissance Office and Under Secretary of the U.S. Air Force

The Space Foundation, a global non-profit organization headquartered in Colorado Springs, created the Colorado Space Heroes Hall of Fame to celebrate the contributions of the honorees and to highlight Colorado’s role as as a hub for all things space, including:

  • Ranking first in the US in number of aerospace employees
  • Having the nation's third-largest aerospace economy
  • Serving as the US. center for military space

The Space Foundation issued a public call for nominations in June, resulting in a pool of prospects that included astronauts, aerospace executives, government officials, engineers and military leaders. The nominations were reviewed by a volunteer selection committee, which included:

  • Vicky Lea, Director Aerospace & Aviation, Metro Denver Economic Development Corporation
  • Maj. Gen. Jay H. Lindell, USAF (Ret.), Colorado Aerospace and Defense Industry Champion
  • Andrew Merritt, Chief Defense Industry Officer at Colorado Springs Regional Business Alliance
  • Col. Gary Eugene Payton, USAF (Ret.), former NASA astronaut and instructor, U.S. Air Force Academy

A black tie gala in Denver, at Mile High Station during World Space Week on October 7, 2016, will celebrate the first honorees to be inducted into the Colorado Space Heroes Hall of Fame and will also serve as a fundraiser to support the STEM education programs, and related space awareness activities, of the Space Foundation.
Ticket information and sponsorship availability information may be viewed at this direct link...
The Colorado Space Heroes Hall of Fame will live virtually on the Internet and may later find a permanent physical presence at the Space Foundation Discovery Center space museum and education center in Colorado Springs, Colorado.