Home >> News: January 21st, 2014 >> Story
Satnews Daily
January 21st, 2014

PTC'14 Closing Events + Awards...Aloha

Awards include the Richard J. Barber PTC Distinguished Service Award, two research awards as well as the Atlantic-ACM awards.

[SatNews] Today's closing ceremonies included presentation of awards in the island paradise of Hawaii.

Richard J. Barber PTC Distinguished Service Award was incorporated at PTC to recognize the value of a member, staff person, or volunteer who has provided exceptional service to PTC over a significant period of time. The award is named in honor of Richard J. Barber, PTC's founding Executive Director.

Previous award recipients include Dick Barber, Bruce Drake, Chris Vonwiller, Meheroo Jussawalla, and Dan J. Wedemeyer. The 2013 recipients were Moriya Koyama and the PTC Japan Committee. Please find a photo on the right of this year's award.

The Pacific Telecommunications Council (PTC) occupies a unique place in the dynamic, rapidly growing world of global communications. An international, non-profit, non-governmental membership organization, PTC is the leading membership organization for telecommunications and information and communication technology (ICT) professionals with interests in the Asia-Pacific region.

Through its annual conference, committees, community, events, and initiatives, PTC brings together senior industry leaders and provides them with opportunities to build partnerships with one another and share insights on industry trends, business strategies, policy and regulations, best practices, and new communication technologies and services. PTC facilitates the open exchange of ideas and commerce and supports on-going research, education, and training that foster positive social and economic development.

First organized in 1978, PTC held its first annual conference in 1979 in Honolulu, Hawaii. PTC was incorporated as a non-profit, non-governmental organization in the State of Hawaii in 1980.