Home >> News: October 25th, 2011 >> Story
Satnews Daily
October 25th, 2011

Space Foundation... Space Achievement Names Award Honoree (Event)

[SatNews] During the special luncheon at next year's NSS event, the highest honor the Space Foundation can bestow...

Gen. Thomas S. Moorman, Jr., USAF, Ret., former vice chief of staff of the Air Force will be presented with the Space Foundation's highest honor, the General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award, at a special luncheon sponsored by Raytheon on April 18, 2012, at the 28th National Space Symposium at The Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs, Colorado. Named for the Space Foundation's former, long-time chairman, the General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award is one of the global space community's highest honors; past recipients have included Norman Augustine, Gen. Bernard Schriever, Buzz Aldrin, Peter Teets, Dr. Hans Mark and E.C. "Pete" Aldridge, among others.

In addition to his role as vice chief of staff, Moorman's many Air Force accomplishments include serving as: commander and vice commander of Air Force Space Command; director of Space and Strategic Defense Initiative Programs in the Office of the Assistant Secretary of the Air Force for Acquisition at the Pentagon; director of the Office of Space Systems; and vice commander of the 1st Space Wing. He has served on the Aerospace Corporation board of trustees and is currently the vice chairman. He also served on the Space Foundation board of directors from 1997 to 2010, and was chairman of the board from 2008 to 2010. In 2008, he retired as a partner with the international management and technology consulting firm Booz Allen Hamilton, where he had been responsible for the firm's Air Force and NASA businesses.

Moorman has received numerous awards for contributions to the nation's and Air Force space programs including the Dr. Robert H. Goddard Memorial Trophy, the General Thomas D. White Space Trophy, the American Astronautical Society's Astronautics Award and the Space Foundation Space Achievement Award. He was selected by Space News as one of the top ten contributors to the nation's space program.