Satnews Daily
September 30th, 2010

SSPI... Dining With The Leaders... (Event)

[SatNews] The Society of Satellite Professionals International has honored three outstanding young satellite professionals with its 2010 Promise Awards, which recognize the potential of young satellite professionals to play a leadership role in the industry — and the winners are:
  • Captain Cheronda V. Spann, Project Manager, SBIRS GEO-1 Space Vehicle, Space & Missile Systems Center, United States Air Force
  • Angela Wheeler, Engineer, RF Operations Level 2, Intelsat
  • Shlomi Izkovitz, Deputy Vice President, Sales & Marketing, RRsat Global Communications Network
  • Andrea Maleter, Senior Technical Director, Space and Telecommunications, Futron Corporation, was selected as SSPI’s “Mentor Award” recipient, for her long-time efforts to mentor the next generation of satellite professionals
The recipients will be honored during SSPI’s 5th annual Future Leaders Dinner on October 12 at The Princeton Club in midtown Manhattan. The Future Leaders Dinner begins at 6:00 p.m. (ET) with a cocktail reception. A portion of the proceeds from the banquet and awards ceremony goes to SSPI’s educational fund for scholarship and intern grants for students seeking careers in the satellite industry. In addition to the four honorees, SSPI makes honorable mention of three additional young professionals: Lt. Sean Zabriskie, Manager, HEO Payload Integration, Launch and Operations, SBIRS Squadron, Space and Missiles Systems Center, United States Air Force; Michael Stauder, Teleport Technician, Intelsat Kommunikations GmbH; and John Huddle, Senior Product Manager, Media Services, Intelsat Singapore PTE Ltd. The Future Leaders Dinner is made possible by the financial support of Arianespace, Ericsson, Intelsat, Space Systems/Loral, SpaceX, PaulHastings and SpaceIsle.