Home >> News: April 23rd, 2014 >> Story
Satnews Daily
April 23rd, 2014

Space Foundation—30th Space Symposium Leaders Confirm Crucial Presentations (Event)

[SatNews] With senior government speakers continuing to confirm their participation at a record pace—and continued commitment of government agencies to their exhibits—the Space Symposium is shaping up to be one of the most significant in the 30 years of the event.

With more than 9,000 expected participants this year, the 30th Space Symposium will be held May 19-22, at The Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA. The Space Symposium has been firmly established as the single most important event for government organizations, and between government and industry on both a national and international basis. Top civil and military space leaders from the U.S. and abroad are confirmed to participate during the week, including:

  • Charles F. Bolden, Jr., (Major General, USMC, Ret.), Administrator, National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
  • Lt. Gen. James R. Clapper, Jr., Director of National Intelligence, USA
  • Richard DalBello, Assistant Director, Space and Aeronautics, Office of Science and Technology Policy, Executive Office of the President
  • Eric K. Fanning, Under Secretary of the Air Force, USAF
  • BG Jeffrey A. Farnsworth, USA, Deputy Commanding General for Operations, US Army Space and Missile Defense Command (USASMDC)/Army Forces Strategic Command (ARSTRAT)
  • Dave Gallagher, Director for Astronomy, Physics and Space Technology, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • Lewis Groswald, Associate Program Officer, National Academy of Sciences
  • John M. Grunsfeld, Ph.D., Associate Administrator for the Science Mission Directorate, National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
  • Tom Hammond, Staff Director, Majority, House Science, Space and Technology Committee; Subcommittee on Space
  • Gil Klinger, Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense, Space and Intelligence Office
  • Letitia A. Long, Director, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency
  • John C. Mather, Ph.D., Senior Project Scientist, James Webb Space Telescope, NASA
  • Robert F. Minehart, Senior Technical & Policy Advisor, U.S. House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence
  • George C. Nield, Ph.D., Associate Administrator for Commercial Space Transportation, Federal Aviation Administration
  • Lt. Gen. Ellen Pawlikowski, USAF, Commander, Space and Missiles Systems Center, Air Force Space Command
  • Lt. Gen. John W. "Jay" Raymond, USAF, Commander, 14th Air Force
  • Gen. William L. Shelton, USAF, Commander, Air Force Space Command
  • Brig. Gen. Roger W. Teague, USAF, Director of Strategic Plans, Programs and Analyses, Air Force Space Command
  • Damon Wells, Director, Office of Policy & Strategy, National Reconnaissance Office
  • Maj. Gen. Martin Whelan, USAF, Director of Requirements, Headquarters Air Force Space Command

Featured international participants are:

  • Col Dominique Arbiol, FAF, Chief of Policy and Cooperations Bureau, French Joint Space Command, Ministry of Defence France
  • Walter J. Natynczyk, (General, CA, Ret.), President, Canadian Space Agency
  • Ger Nieuwpoort, Ph.D., Director,  Netherlands Space Office
  • David Parker, Ph.D., Chief Executive Officer, United Kingdom Space Agency
  • Marius-Ioan Piso, Ph.D., President and Chief Executive Officer, Romanian Space Agency (ROSA)
  • Alexander Weis, Deputy Policy Director for Defense and Armaments Policy, German Ministry of Defense

Some of the notable Cyber 1.4 speakers include:

  • COL Burt A. Biebuyck, USA, Chief, Cyberspace Future Operations Division, NORAD and USNORTHCOM Cyberspace Operations
  • Kristina Harrington, Director of Signals Intelligence Directorate, National Reconnaissance Office
  • Col. Dean G. Hullings, USAF, Chief, Cyber Superiority Division, Air Force Space Command
  • Maj. Gen. James K. "Kevin" McLaughlin, USAF, Commander, 24th Air Force and Air Forces Cyber
  • Maj. Gen. Craig S. Olson, USAF, Program Executive Officer for C3I and Networks, Hanscom Air Force Base, Mass.
  • Congressman Lamar Smith (R-TX), Chairman of the United States House Committee on Science, Space and Technology

Featured New Generation Space Leaders participants are:

  • Larry D. James (Lieutenant General, USAF, Ret.), Deputy Director, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • Phil Larson, Senior Advisor for Space and Innovation, Office of Science and Technology Policy

Technical Track participants include:

  • Col. Douglas N. "Neal" Barlow, USAF, Chief Scientist, Air Force Space Command
  • Robert S. Cox (Colonel, USAF, Ret.), Director, National Space Technology Applications, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • Kathryn Lueders, Acting Program Manager, NASA's Commercial Crew Program

Featured by-invitation event speakers are:

  • Andrew D. Cox, Director, Space Security & Defense Program, Air Force Space Command
  • Lt. Gen. John E. Hyten, USAF, Vice Commander, Air Force Space Command
  • Douglas L. Loverro, Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense, Space Policy, Office of the Under Secretary of Defense
  • Col. Alan F. Rebholz, USAF, Chief, Space Operations Division, Office of the Deputy Chief of Staff for Air and Space Operations, Headquarters U.S. Air Force
  • Betty J. Sapp, Director, National Reconnaissance Office

Affiliated events:

  • Eric L. Hirschhorn, Under Secretary for Industry and Security, Department of Commerce

These notables join the already impressive roll of U.S. and international government panelists. Visit http://www.spacesymposium.org/ to see all of the panelists, plus the complete speakers list and agenda, and to register for both the Symposium and Cyber 1.4.