Satnews Daily
February 11th, 2011

Moving On Up And Remaining Put...New Mexico Spaceport Authority

[SatNews] Gov. Susana Martinez has reappointed three members to the board of New Mexico Spaceport Authority and named four new members to round out the governing authority for Spaceport America, the state’s premier commercial space facility.

Jerry Stagner, Benjamin Woods and Richard Holdridge have been reappointed to the board, with Holdridge in the position of chairman. The new directors are Irvin Diamond, an Albuquerque CPA; Sid Gutierrez, a former astronaut now with Sandia National Laboratories in Albuquerque; David Buchholtz, an Albuquerque attorney; and Scott Krahling, a Las Cruces marketing consultant.

“The carry-over directors will provide continuity for Spaceport America while the new members bring a wide range of experience to the task of completing the facility and making it operational,” said Patricia Hynes, ISPCS Chair.

One of the first tasks of the new board is to name a new executive director for the spaceport to replace Rick Homans, who resigned at the governor’s request in January. An announcement is expected soon.

ISPCS 2011 will be held October 19-20 during Space Week in New Mexico, and is organized by the New Mexico Space Grant Consortium, a member of the National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program, administered by NASA.