Home >> News: March 1st, 2020 >> Story
Satnews Daily
March 1st, 2020

Satcoms Innovation Group's Two New Academic Members

The Satcoms Innovation Group (SIG) welcome two new academic members to their forum, which are the University of Auckland, New Zealand and The South West Centre of Excellence in Satellite Applications, Cornwall, United Kingdom.

The Satcoms Innovation Group promotes innovation within the satellite communications industry, with the aim of improving operational efficiency and reducing impact. The academic tier is the latest membership category within the group and is part of the group’s initiative to further participation with the academic community.

Helen Weedon, Managing Director, SIG, explains that the satellite ecosystem is currently facing unprecedented change, in order to continue to adapt SIG needs to welcome fresh perspectives on the current challenges. It’s particularly important, that they’re engaging with research and development outside of the commercial sector. At the same time, offering students networking opportunities early in their career, means the engineers of the future will be better connected. 

The University of Auckland undertakes research and development in a number of important areas including; deployable structures, optical communication ground station networks and plasma micro-propulsion technology. 

Dr. Pau Medrano, Business Development Manager – Science & Engineering, The University of Auckland, explains that New Zealand is starting to define its place in the fast-growing international space sector. The Institute supports an industry which will have a strong impact on their technological, economic and social future. SIG membership offers their researchers and students the opportunity to collaborate with industry professionals, in order to expand their collective innovative capacities.

The South West Centre of Excellence in Satellite Applications (SWCoESA) is based in Cornwall, with the University of Exeter as the lead delivery partner. SWCoESA helps regional innovators to develop and commercialize Space technologies and satellite applications. Its four key themes are eHealth, Marine, Mining and Natural Capital. The Centre consortium consists of the University of Exeter (Lead), University of Plymouth and Falmouth University and also has support from key Space industry stakeholders, including the UK Space Agency, Satellite Applications Catapult, European Space Agency, Spaceport Cornwall and Goonhilly Earth Station.
Academic membership is free to those who qualify. Member organizations are able to influence the satellite communication industry, through events and inclusion in the SIG Innovation Hub program. The group facilitates discussion between operators and professionals to benefit industry efficiencies as a whole.