Home >> News: January 3rd, 2019 >> Story
Satnews Daily
January 3rd, 2019

World Teleport Association Opens Nominations for the 2019 Teleport Awards for Excellence

It's a new year, and with that comes new awards for various organizations such as the World Teleport Association (WTA) which announced the opening of nominations for the 2019 Teleport Awards for Excellence.

WTA’s Teleport Awards have been presented annually since 1995 to companies and individuals who have demonstrated excellence in the field of teleport operations, development and technology. Nominations for the 2019 Teleport Awards for Excellence must be submitted to WTA by March 31, 2019. The 2019 Teleport Awards will be presented on May 7 at a luncheon ceremony for invited guests at the SATELLITE 2019 conference in Washington, DC.

Last year's award winners Independent Teleport Operator of the Year Telespazio (Italy)

Executive director Robert Bell said that teleports are the high-tech factories where satellite and terrestrial connectivity meet best-of-breed technology to deliver value. WTA’s annual award program gives the industry the recognition it so rightly deserves.

Nominations are now being accepted for:

Independent Teleport Operator of the Year
Awarded to an outstanding operator of a commercial communications hub that uses a combination of satellite, fiber, and terrestrial wireless to provide value-added services to customers in broadcasting, enterprise, carrier or government markets.

Last year's winners of Teleport Technology of the Year Alusat by Integrasys (Spain)

Teleport Technology of the Year
Awarded to an organization whose technology has contributed to the business and operational success of teleports through lower costs, increased efficiency, new capabilities or access to new markets.

In addition to the Independent Teleport Operator of the Year and the Teleport Technology of the Year, WTA will also present an award for the Teleport Executive of the Year, to be selected by an awards committee of the association. 

Sponsorship opportunities are available. Contact Randall Barney or Louis Zacharilla for more information.

Nominations must be submitted using the Word electronic forms available on the WTA website and may be either emailed or printed and submitted in hard copy. In addition, nominees are welcome to supply accompanying materials in support of their nomination, as described on the WTA’s Teleport Awards Criteria page.